Sunday, August 11, 2013

The Twins are Here! And Birth Experience

I am soooo behind on blogging about my time in the hospital and the twins' birth! As of now, I've actually been discharged and home with my parents for 4 days and the twins just turned 1 week old yesterday, meeting their 36 week milestone. But let's start from where I had left off (sorry if this is a long post)....

I ended up staying in the hospital on bedrest for 11 days, plus an additional 4 days after the twins were born. During my stay in the High Risk Perinatal department I had the protein in my urine rechecked 3 days after the initial test, which had shown 2 grams of protein in my urine and confirming the diagnoses of preeclampsia. After the second 24 hour urine collection, we were completely surprised to find that my protein levels had dropped from 2 grams to 400 milligrams! Still above 300mg, so I was still preeclampsic but mildly. It seemed that bed rest did wonders and I was pretty sure I would be able to go home! Unfortunately, another growth scan of the babies showed that Baby B, our little girl, was still growing smaller than her brother. By this point I was 34+ weeks and my OB recommended delivering the babies at 35 weeks to decrease the risk of further restricting the growth of baby B. A cesarean was planned for the upcoming Saturday when I reached 35 weeks. I had planned to blog during my entire stay at the hospital, but between all my visitors, nurses rounded,  fetal monitor checks, etc. I just forgot. Eventually, you stay in the hospital long enough the days start blended together. I am truly thankful to all my family, friends, and coworkers who came to visit me. It made the stay bearable and the days go by faster. I was also lucky of have an amazing group of nurses taking care of me! We had some great conversations, especially after they leaned that I was also a nurse in the hospital.

So onward to the twins arrival! The big birth day literally went by like a blur. Almost like your wedding day, some much is happening when you have a c section that you need to stop and remember to take certain things in. I am glad we had our camera to capture some moments. So, I went in for my c section at around 11:39am after having spoken to my OB who would be performing the procedure and my anesthesiologist. One of the perks of working at the hospital is that I got to choose my anesthesiologist, all of whom I personally know and work with on a daily basis. Luckily, Dr. Nguyen was on the schedule that evening and agreed to do my c section. I was happy that Dr. Lizardo was going to be the OB out of my group delivering the twins. Being that he's Filipino was pretty cool. So, going into the L&D operating room, I wasn't too nervous as I knew I had a great team and that our hospital had an excellent level 3+ NICU. My nerves finally kicked in when they sat me on the OR table and started prepping me for my spinal block. Having only one minor breast biopsy in the past, where I was completely sedated, I didn't know what to expect. I have had patients who have had spirals so I knew that my legs would be numb,I knew that my back would be numb prior to receiving the actual injection into my spine, but you're never really prepared. Luckily, the spinal wasn't so bad. The worst part was the slightly burning sensation that goes down your back, but its really brief and not as bad as I had expected. Soon a warm sensation ran down my legs and my sense of feeling from the chest down diminished. I was laid on the table, a Foley catheter was placed in (which I never felt), my hubby was brought in, and the show started. There were two neonatologists on standby; one for each baby. From the start of the c section to then twins actual delivery went by so fast! The worst part of the entire experience was the constant nausea that I was feeling from my blood pressure dropping because of all instant fluid loss and tugging of my insides. Thankfully, all I had to do was tell my anesthesiologist that I was feeling nauseated and she was quick to give me something of the nausea and low blood pressure. I was kept well informed of what was happening and so thankfully to have Brandon at my side to hold my hand and reassure me that everything was okay. At some point the pain meds kicked in and I started to get  sleepy; not sedated where I I didn't know what was going on. I could hear what everyone was saying, but I wanted to close my eyes.

Eventually, the twins were born at 12:09 each. It was really fast since they were little. Aiden James came out first; pink and cute. But he gave us a scare a it took him a while to start crying. I think I held my breathe for those entire few minutes until I finally heard him cry. Emilia Marie came out right after her brother and was thankfully crying right away. She was sooo tiny at 3 lbs, 13 oz compared to her brother who was 4 lbs, 8 oz! Brandon was able to get pictures and I got to see them, but they were quickly whisked away to the NICU. I was closed up and brought to the recovery too in a daze because of the pain meds. I spent some time sleeping with Brandon at my side. I ended up staying in the recovery area for about 2 hours because my blood pressure started rising. Eventually, they gave me some pain medicine for the cramping I was feeling, some blood pressure medication, and some ICE CHIPS! Oh, being NPO (nothing by mouth) since midnight is not fun when you are pregnant! When my blood pressure finally went down, I was taken in my stretcher to see the babies in the NICU before going to my room in the Maternity floor. They were so cute and tiny! I couldn't believe they were mine :) I ended up staying for 4 days recovering and visiting the babies in the NICU. As of today I feel really good. My incision bothers be from time to time, but I am off the narcotics and only taking Morton as needed. My incision looks like it's heading very well too. Getting up and walking as much as possible really helped get me back to some sense of normalcy. The babies are still in the NICU as of today, but I will leave that experience for another post! Would I do the who experience again? For those two, I would do anything, but being pregnant with twins was not easy! I instantaneously lost 20 lbs when they were delivered and still have more to go. The c section was not as bad as I imagined, but I was lucky to have a good experience. For now, imam pretty content with life. I am just happy that the babies are healthy and am enjoying them everyday. I can't wait to take them home from the NICU!

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Day Three at the Inn

I am still checked into Hotel Holy Cross and am still pregnant! The results of my 24 hour urine collection came back yesterday evening and the protein level was at 2 grams. This means that I have preeclampsia, but it wasn't severe enough to necessitate delivering the babies. For me it was such a relief, but at the same time the situation is like a catch 22; I don't want to become a permanent resident of  the hospital, but I want to keep the babies in utero for all long as possible to develop. Obviously this is just me being selfish, and of course I will do whoever is necessary to keep the babies safe and healthy; be that an early deliver or changing my address to Holy Cross Hospital. Luckily, at max amount of time I would be here is another 4 weeks, which seems long, but I have read about other women having to stay on hospital bed rest for MONTHS.

So today has been in uneventful so far. I didn't sleep much last night with having to pee every hour and then I started to have irregular contractions that we pretty uncomfortable. My nurse placed me on the monitor for a NST that showed I was having irritable contractions, which she mentioned was due to my uterus getting ready for delivery, but also because I was probably dehydrated. I was on IV fluids most of the day yesterday, but my IV access is now heplocked so I am not longer connected to the IV pump. This means I don't get as much fluids at night. My new goal is to drink, drink, drink! As of today I still get occasional contractions, some are moderately painful, but drink water and changing my position has definitely helped! My OB was notified and she agreed that I just needed to down water like a camel. At this point, if I was to go into labor naturally my doctors would not stop the process with medication.

As of now, I just spoke one of my OBs regarding "the plan". I am going to stay in the hospital at least until we do another 24 hour collection, which will be on Sunday and I'll get the results of Monday. Like last time, if the protein results are greater than 5 grams then they will deliver the babies via c section. If I go into labor naturally then we will plan for a c section. And if the amount of protein is about the same or greater, but less than 5 grams, we will have another pow-wow. At this point I have pretty much come to the acceptance that I am here for the long haul and that it's the best option. As much as I miss the comforts of home and my dogs, preeclampsia is not something to mess with. At least I now have shower and wheelchair privileges! I can take a shower (goodbye sponge bath!) and can go out of my room each day for 2 hours, but must be in a wheelchair; it's better than being confounded to my room all day!

I also had another biophysical profile sonogram this morning. Babies are looking awesome as usually. They will get measured for gestational age and weight next week. So I am currently showered, fed, and relaxing in bed. I think I'll start using my camera today! It's such a lovely day outside. I can't wait for my hubby to get off work so he can take me out to enjoy the sunshine! Until then, maybe another nap and more water. Chug-a-lug!


Off to the hospital I go!

Yesterday I was 33 weeks, 3 days and had my weekly appointment at the OB office. The day started off with a biophysical profile sonogram of the twins. Both looked great according to the tech; good heartbeats, enough amniotic fluid, moving, and practicing breathing. The appointment took an unexpected turn when the nurse took my blood pressure and it was initially 140/100! She had me lie on my side and retook it twice. By lying down, my blood pressure came down to 130/90's. However, there was also +2 protein in my urine sample according to the dipstick reading. These new symptoms, plus my occassional headaches and gigantic swelling of my hands and feet was enough for my OB to send me to the hospital to get checked out for preeclampsia.

So here I am. Day two at the High Risk Perinatal unit of Holy Cross Hospital. Last night was my first overnight in a hospital as a patient! It's definitely a different experience when compared to working here as a nurse. I am having my blood pressure monitored and undergoing a 24 hour urine collection to get a more accurate measurement of the protein in my urine. I am also on bed rest with bathroom priviledges only. Yesterday consisted of getting settled into my *thankfully* spacious and private room, starting my urine collection, getting a betamethasone shot in my butt (which hurt like hell) to help mature the babies lungs in case they are delivered early, and having the babies heartbeats and my contractions monitored occassionally. So far my stay has gone well and my nurses have been excellent! I've also had a good amount of visitors (co-workers and family) stopping by to entertain me and keep me company :)

As of now we are simply waiting on the results of my urine collection. The bedrest has allowed my blood pressure get down to the 130/80's range; still high for me personally, but not within dangerous ranges. So the plan is... If the results of my urine collection shows a protein level of 5 grams or more, my OB will deliver the twins this evening. Severe amounts of protein is an indication of possible kidney damage due to the preeclampsia. So for my safety and the babies well-being, they would need to be delivered so that my blood pressure will stopped rising. The alternative scenerio is if the amount of protein is less than 5grams, but greater than 300mg my OB will keep me in the hospital to continue monitoring my blood pressure. I don't know how long they intend to keep me in the hospital.

At the moment I'm just resting in bed and praying that I don't get cabin fever :)

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Do babies feel sadness?

I'm sure they can sense when you are stressed, but what about other emotions? Today I am feeling an overwhelming amount of sadness. My shih tzu of about 15 years, Pierre, passed away this morning. I am grateful that he passed peacefully in his sleep and that he doesn't have to deal with all of life's troubles anymore. I am also thankful that he passed in the comfort of our home and not at the vet's because he always hated going to the vet. It's what my husband and I always wanted for him. It's not really a surprise that he passed, as his health was rapidly declining these past few days. He's been blind for a long time now, but amazingly made his way around the house and even up and down the stairs for a while. His biggest challenge was a nasty perianal tumor that was located on his tail that occurred because he was never neutered and was most likely cancerous at this point. When we moved to our new house, the new vet suggested neutering him in the hopes that the tumor would shirk, if not stop growing. That was a few months ago and it definitely had stopped growing, but was always there. We had hoped to get the tumor surgically removed, but life happens and it unfortunately got pushed back. Thankfully Pierre continued to live a happy, normal life; just content to bask in the sun all day and nap around the house.

His health started to decline in the past weeks when we noticed he wasn't eating as much. He was still moving around and doing his business outside, but he was getting thinner. First we figured the hard dog food was become too tiring for him to eat, so we fed him soft canned food. That lasted a few months, but these past few weeks he wouldn't eat the canned food anymore. We were able to get him to eat rice, hamburger meat, boiled chicken, fruits, and liver (his favorite) for a while, but in the past week he would eat only bits and pieces, if anything at all.

We had planned to take him to the vet tomorrow, most likely to get place down, so in some ways I'm thankful he went on his own terms. Today the vet is closed, so we called an emergency vet regarding our options. We decided against cremation because of the cost and have decided to bury him at the back of our property as we live on a few acres. This morning we found a peaceful, quiet clearing under the trees where the sun light passes through. I wanted a nice sunny spot, as Pierre loved to sit quietly in the sun. Even after he became blind he would sit out in our yard and let the sun warm his face. I wish today was a happy sunny day for him, but it's appropriately gloomy, cloudy, and now rainy.

I will miss his fierce spirit and energetic personality. In his younger years he would bolt out of my parents' house and we would have to chase after him. I think he really just liked to run. Playing tug-of-war was his favorite game. And while he hated to be groomed or get bathed (typical boy), he was a lover and always there for a warm cuddle. I will miss his smile and funny antics, but I am happy that he lived a wonderful life and is now in a better place.

Rest in peace, buddy. Thank you for all the joy and happiness you brought to my life...

Pierre 07.21.2013



Saturday, July 20, 2013

Pregnancy Lifesavers

As my pregnancy journey is coming to an end (I can't believe I have only a month left), I thought I'd write about some of the products that have helped me throughout this occasionally challenging period. Call it my pregnancy survival kit...

Bio Oil/Palmers Coco Butter - I may be jinxing myself at this point, but at 33 weeks I have yet to get any stretch marks! It may be genetics as my mother of two didn't get any with her pregnancies, but one would think that with twins I would get a few battle scars? Now, I still have a month to go and have a co-worker who didn't get any stretch marks until a few days before her daughter was born, so we'll see. *fingers crossed that it's genetics!* That being said, I have taken measure to try and prevent those lovely scars from occurring. Since the start of my first trimester, I have religiously used either Bio Oil or Palmers in the morning right after a shower and occasionally at night before bed. I primarily use Palmers as the Bio Oil can be messy and takes a while to dry. I usually only use Bio Oil after my shower before bed or if I don't plan on going anywhere eminently during the day. Both products are easily available at a drugstore or Target. Bio Oil is more on the pricey side, but it lasts a long time if you use it sparingly. A little goes a long way!

http://www.ulta.com/ulta/browse/productDetail.jsp?productId=xlsImpprod1800041

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Palmer-s-Cocoa-Butter-Formula-For-Stretch-Marks-Lotion-8.5-fl-oz/10311247

Unisom - I was unfortunate enough to have morning sickness throughout my first trimester and occasionally during my third. The worst part about my experience with "morning" sickness is that I would get it at night. It wasn't bad to the point where I was vomiting or had to be hospitalized, but I did lose about 10 lbs in my first trimester and nausea is never fun especially when you're trying to sleep. Luckily, my OB told me I could use Unisom, which is an OTC med available at any grocery or drugstore. It was originally used to treat nausea for patients in the hospital, but one of it's side effects is sleepiness. Not drowsiness. Out like a rock sleepiness. It is now marketed primarily as a sleep aid. For me, it was a godsend! I take half a pill if I'm nauseous at night and within minutes my nausea is resolved and I'm usually able to fall asleep after about 30 mins. Best sleep ever! It does leave you with a haze in the morning so I wouldn't recommend it if you have to wake up and drive somewhere. I will usually only take Unisom over the weekend or if I don't have to work the next morning and can sleep in. *Make sure you get the original Unisom in tablet form, NOT the gel caps.

http://www.target.com/p/unisom-sleep-tablets-32-pk/-/A-11191198?ref=tgt_adv_XSG10001&AFID=Google_PLA_df&LNM=%7C11191198&CPNG=Health+Beauty&kpid=11191198&LID=PA&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=11191198&gclid=CI3Fkv-ev7gCFQ-i4AodfjcAjg

Tums - Another no-so-fun symptom that I started to experience during my third trimester was heartburn/acid reflux. My husband gets this all the time and pops Tums like candy. I never understood this since I never experienced heartburn until now. Obviously I can empathize with his pain nowadays. Like my nausea episodes, occurrences of heartburn also happen at night. Thankfully, I take two Tums tablets and I'm good to go in a few minutes. They don't initially taste bad, but have a yucky aftertaste! However, it's nothing a few swigs of water won't solve.

Prunes - Constipation! Yes, it happens during pregnancy and especially in the third trimester when your internal organs are pushed and smushed due to your growing uterus. Constipation sucks because it gave me horrible stomach aches. Thankfully, I like prunes and boy do they help! We can just leave it at that. If you're constipated try some prunes. If you don't like prunes then I'm sorry.

Water bottle - During my first trimester I craved water! I could drink gallons of it. And obviously throughout my pregnancy I had to pee so much I would have killed for a foley catheter just so I didn't have to use the bathroom all the time. As I progressed into my third trimester I started to become dehydrated. It's the summer time, it's hot, and with twins I had to drink twice the already ridiculous amount recommended for mothers of singletons. This means I have a water bottle with me everywhere! As I am approaching the end of my third trimester I have discovered glass water bottles!! They are heavier then plastic, but so much better for you (if you're one of those people who care)... BPA free and doesn't leach any toxins and metals that occur with plastic and metal water bottles. I have a water bottle from Lifefactory and Ellos (available at Target); both products I got with flip tops.

http://www.amazon.com/Lifefactory-Beverage-Bottle-22-Ounce-Turquoise/dp/B00B9DJWTM/ref=cm_srch_tsr_rtr

http://www.amazon.com/Ello-Glass-Water-Bottle-Flip/dp/B00BUTN4V2/ref=sr_1_2?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1374363272&sr=1-2&keywords=Ellos

Diflucan - Never got a yeast infection until I became pregnant and during my first trimester. Don't waste time and money using OTC products like Monistat creams. Just get a prescription for Diflucan/Fluconazole from your OB. You take 1-2 pills and BAM! No more yeast infection :)

Granny Panties - When you're pregnant everything tight starts to become uncomfortable. Especially being preggos in the summer, I craved comfy clothing. I practically live in with my pjs, maxi dresses, loose shirts, maternity leggings, maternity skirts, maternity tanks and flip flops. But granny panties are a must for nighttime comfort and I hear they are a must-have for postpartum recovery. I got mine at Motherhood Maternity. They are cotton, comfy, but most importantly large and in charge!

Iced tea - When my husband and I start TTCing, I immediately cut out any alcohol from my diet. Once I became pregnant I cut out coffee and caffeinated soda as well. Now, I LOVE my coffee and diet coke so this was no easy task, but I've managed to survive my entire pregnancy without any coffee and only recently indulged twice in a diet coke to help manage headaches I've been having in the third trimester. This is not to say that I have gone 100% without caffeine. My saving grace has been allowing myself to drink non-sweetened ice twice (which I will occasionally lightly sweetened with sugar). Yes, it has caffeine, but not as much as coffee or soda. Oh, and only brewed iced tea; not bottled stuff like Arizona, unless it's Honest Tea or PureLeaf which I love!

Prenatal Cradle - I'm 5'1", so I'm not a big person, and while I was overweight at the start of my pregnancy, I have never weighed this much in my life. My weight nowadays is primarily water retention and the belly. I'm having twins, so two babies, twice the amniotic fluid, and two placentas. HEAVY!!! My back started to bother me around 18 weeks when I started showing. By my second trimester I decided I needed some belly support especially at work. Voila, the prenatal cradle or a girdle :) It's not the most stylish, but I was in scrubs so who cares. It's not the most comfortable, but I definitely notice a difference when I'm not wearing it. I usually wear it around the house and definitely at work. It's harder to hide it underneath clothing during the summer. I bought mine from Amazon and got a medium since I figured my belly was going to be huge with twins. In hindsight, I probably could have gotten away with a small.

http://www.amazon.com/Its-You-Babe-Prenatal-145-175/dp/B00006D2RB

Well, that's all I can think of for now. Plus my swollen/numb fingers need a break. I'll try to update if I come along any other products worth mentioning :)

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Third Trimester... The home stretch!

Wow, sorry it had been forever since I've updated this blog! I've finally made it into my third trimester and it has been taking it's toll in me mentally and physically. Boy, do I miss the joys of my second trimester. My third trimester has definitely been very challenging and it makes the horrors of my first trimester look like a walk in the park!

Back are my constant fatigue, but this time its from carrying around the belly weight. I am currently at the 32 week mark, but at 31 weeks each baby was roughly 3 pounds each and my uterus was the size of someone who's full term. AWESOME! The dreaded morning sickness, which for me occurs at night, has returned along with a new lovely symptom... heartburn/reflux. Gross. All of these happen to me at night, which makes sleeping miserable some days. Thank goodness for Unisom and Tums.

Another FUN symptom that has come along during my this trimester is swelling of my feet and hands :( Thankfully my blood pressure has been normal, but the swelling has made life challenging. Luckily its the summer so I live constantly in flip flops and dresses. It's so sad that I can no longer fit into my regular shoes. The most annoying aspect of the swelling has been the pregnancy induced carpel tunnel syndrome that has caused my fingers to go numb and sore. I've been wearing wrist splints and compression stockings, but my OB has happily notified me that the only true remedy is delivering the babies. Joy.

My apologies for all the sarcasm. The past few weeks have not really been fun. I am so excited to have these babies and can't wait to not be preggos anymore, but I don't wait premature babies either if I can avoid it. Only 5 more weeks until I'll be full term at 37 weeks! I'd be happy to make it 35-36 weeks. At this point I will most likely have a c-section because Aiden has been breech for the longest time. I'm not particularly against having a c-section, but am not looking forward to the recovery period with twins.

The next few weeks are sure to be interesting. I'm just thankful that my OB has FINALLY taken me off work and placed me on modified bed rest because Emilia is running slightly smaller than Aiden. They are hoping that the rest and decrease of stress will help her grow and prevent me from going into preterm labor. *fingers crossed* that I can survive the upcoming weeks!

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Things I have learned since becoming pregnant

Being that this is my first pregnancy, and with twins no less, I have started to realize all the different quirks and changes that happen to you when you are making another human being, or more. Some of this might be considered TMI, but it's all true and can happen to anyone expecting a bundle of joy. I'm sure many women can relate to these events, and if you haven't, than considered yourself blessed! Lol. If you read on, you have been warned :)

1. You will get bigger! In female terms that means fat! It might not happen right away and if you're lucky it'll only be your stomach and your boobs, but no one goes through pregnancy without having to size up in some aspect. Having started out over weight prior to learning I was pregnant, my OB recommended that I didn't lose nor gain too much weight. My OB group didn't want me to diet and lose too much weight because of the babies. As it turned out, I ended up losing about 7-10 pounds during my first trimester due to morning sickness and have now started gaining weight in my second trimester; primarily in my boobs and belly as the babies grow. I have gotten away with not having to buy any extra maternity clothes except for a belly band, but it might soon be time to start.

2. You will feel miserable! Some days will be better than other and thanks to two horrible words = morning sickness! Actually, I know some lucky ladies that don't experience this, and those of us that do love to hate them! The on and off nausea was probably the worst part of my first trimester. Thankfully, it was never so bad too the point of puking in the toilet, as I have a bad aversion to vomiting. The bad part for me was being nauseous at night, which was helped with a magic pill called Unisom :) Coming into my second trimester, the nausea is all, but gone. My stomach still gets upset easily and is more sensitive than BC (before conception), but its not constant.

3. The first toy you will ever give to your unborn child is your bladder!  For me, Baby A is the one closer to my cervix and therefore closer to my bladder. He/she is also the more wiggly of the two according to the sonograms. This means they are the primary culprit for all those bathroom breaks I take throughout the day and night! I swear I wake up at least 4-5 times throughout the night to pee! And I annoyingly have to go every 1-2 hours at work! I am a bathroom break away from putting in a foley catheter at times because I'm so tired of having to pee all the time! The fact that your need to drink lots of fluids and water doesn't help.

4. You will nap more now than when you were a kid. I was sooooo fatigued during my first trimester and it has only gotten slightly better into my second. I could sleep all night and still be exhausted during the day. Of course it's not the best sleep since you wake up so much to pee. Find time to nap and rest when you can. It's one of the few times in your adult life where you have an excuse to nap as much as possible :)

5. Cravings vs food aversions. One of the questions I get asked most is if I'm having any cravings yet.  Honestly, the only thing I really crave throughout the day is dim sum and bubble tea, but then I'm always craving that even when I'm not pregnant. For me, it's more about the foods that I cannot tolerate. So far sweet potatoes, Cinnamon toast crunch and tuna fish are not as palatable for me as they used to be :( My stomach also gets easily upset at random times it seems. I'll be okay eating a meal one day, but trying to eat leftovers the next day is a no no. My go-to food that has always been a safe choice for me = peanut butter and crackers!

6. Vaginal discharge. I said it. Ladies you know what I'm talking about. If you think that just because you're pregnant that you don't have to wear pads for 9 months... Wrong! And if not handled properly, you can get another ugly side effect of pregnancy... Yeast infections. My personal advice, give your girls parts a breather from time to time. Say goodbye to cute silky panties and become one with your cotton granny panties. Invest in some pantyliners if needed. Eat lots of yogurt if your appetite can handle it. And worst comes to worst, ask your OB for some diflucan or go to CVS for monistat cream. Having never had a yeast infections before in my life, monistat was a life saver in getting this under control ASAP!

7. Back pain. As you tummy gets bigger, this not-so-fun side effect increases. Most women's frames are just not used to they're stomach becoming the size of watermelons or bigger, and have to constantly carry around the equivalence of that weight. It's like carrying around a weight of 10+ pounds in your mid section for 9 months. Plus the growth of your belly throws you spine's alignment off. Yoga. Back strengthening exercises. Exercise in general. Not gaining too much weight (thought for some of us this is not an option). Massages. Rest. Heat pads. Take care of your back! Working in healthcare, many will tell you... you only injury your back once. It's never the same afterwards.

8. Sleeping can suck. You'll crave rest and just being able to put your feet up, but lying in bed is not always as comfortable, especially as you advance in your pregnancy. Say good-bye to sleeping on your back and definitely your stomach! Say hello to lying on either your left (most recommend) or right side, which is not always so comfy. You will wake up to an arm falling asleep every now and then. Invest in a pregnancy pillow or at the very two king/body-sized pillows. One for the front and back. Oh, and as your belly gets bigger... rolling from side to side in bed will sadly become more challenging.

Hope some of these help or at least were interesting. Honestly, you can read all the pregnancy book and websites, as well as all of they advise people will give you, but they're nothing compared to experiencing everything yourself. Just like everyone women is different, no two pregnancies are ever the same!